WATCH : The controversial catch out of Matt Renshaw by Dean Elgar

103

Do you think Dean Elgar took this cleanly?

YES or NO

Posted by Cricket Network on Thursday, November 24, 2016

On Day 2 of the 3rd Test against South Africa, Australian debutant Matt Renshaw’s maiden Test innings was brought to a contentious end as he was given out after a prolonged third umpire review.

Renshaw was caught in the slips off the bowling of South African pacer Kyle Abbott, but there was much debate over whether the catch had been taken cleanly.

The on-field umpires Richard Kettleborough and Nigel Llong signaled the decision of out to the third-umpire.

Having dived low to his right at third slip, Dean Elgar made his first contact with the ball with his right hand with daylight between the ball and the grass.

However, he was unable to hold onto the catch with his right hand as the ball ricocheting down to his left hand.

And lastly, the TV umpire went on with the decision of the on-field umpires and the left-handed batsman was given OUT.